Moving mail, calendar and contacts from iPhone to Android

I’ve just switched mobile phones from an iPhone 3G to a Motorola Defy. Of course, I wanted to move my contacts and future calendar entries. Apple doesn’t provide any sort of general export facility for iPhone data, so this required some research. In the end, it was quite straightforward.

To transfer contacts:

  1. Create a Google mail account if you don’t already have one.
  2. Plug your iPhone into your PC so that it brings up iTunes. In iTunes, select your phone under Devices, then select the Info tab. Tell it to sync your contacts with Google contacts (after making the selection, you need to click Apply to actually make it synchronize).
  3. Tell your Android phone to sync with your Google contacts.

Moving the calendar is trickier, because iTunes doesn’t provide a facility to sync with Google calendar. However, if you have Microsoft Office Outlook installed, you can do the following:

  1. In the same iTunes screen, tell it to sync the calendar with Outlook, and click Apply.
  2. Download and install Google calendar sync, to sync Outlook with the Google calendar.
  3. When that’s done and you can see your calendar entries in Google calendar, tell your Android phone to sync with your Google calendar.

I’ve discovered that there are programs you can buy that will move your SMS messages, but I wasn’t bothered about keeping them, so I haven’t tried those programs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moving mail, calendar and contacts from iPhone to Android

  1. Carmen says:

    Hi there! Thanks for the information as I am just about to do the same thing!! How are you finding the phone compared to the Iphone? Good, bad, indifferent? I’d love to hear your opinion! Thanks

    • davidcrocker says:

      On the minus side, the Android user interface is less polished that the iPhone, the phone occasionally needs to be rebooted, and Motorola are extremely slow at producing software updates. On the plus side, the phone costs much less than an iPhone (it came free with my 2-year contract), does not restrict me to apps that are approved by Apple, and the free satnav program (Google Navigation) is adequate for my needs even though as it isn’t as good as CoPilot that I paid for on my iPhone. Overall I consider it good value, although if money is no object and you can afford to buy a new iPhone every year, maybe the iPhone would suit you better. My main reason for ditching the iPhone 3G was that after only 1 year into a 2 year contract, the Apple software updates made it unbearably slow sometimes.

  2. Hi Dave,

    I have a Century IIb in my Piper Warrior. When I test the AP on the ground, it works fine. When I I’m at altitude and I engage the autopilot, it starts tracking the heeding bug and then banks to the right and stays there. Would you know what is causing this problem?

    • davidcrocker says:

      I think you meant to post this comment in response to my entry on Century III autopilots. I’m not familiar with the Century IIb, but if it were a Century III then I would try engaging the autopilot with the heading bug left of the current track and see whether the aircraft banks to the left at all. If it doesn’t, then I would suspect an amplifier fault, possibly a blown output transistor.

  3. Shelley says:

    Thank you, this was very helpful and fast!

Leave a Reply

